Houston Ophthalmological Society

Everett L. Goar Memorial Lecturers

Click below to pay your membership dues or dinner fees. Thank you!

Goar PortraitEverett L. Goar, MD, was born in Clinton County, Indiana, on November 13, 1886. He died at the age of 84 on April 25, 1971, in Houston, Texas, where he had practiced from 1921 until his retirement, January 1, 1971. He graduated from Kirklin, Indiana, high school in 1903 and from Indiana University, Bloomington, in 1907. After graduation from Rush Medical College, Chicago, Illinois, in 1909, he served his internship at Chicago’s Cook County Hospital from 1909 - 1911. During World War I, Dr. Goar became a Major in the Medical Corps. He studied ophthalmology at the New York Eye and Ear Infirmary in 1920 and at the University of Colorado in 1922, and was awarded Doctor of Ophthalmology degree from Colorado University in 1925.

Dr. Goar gave generously of his time and efforts to each of the many organizations to which he belonged. He served as president of the Harris County Medical Society, the Houston Academy of Medicine, the Texas Society of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology, and the American Ophthalmological Society, 1954 - 1955. He served as Vice-President of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology. He was Chairman of Section on Ophthalmology of the American Medical Association. He was a member of American Board of Ophthalmology for nine years and Chairman of the Board, 1947 - 1948. He was Director of the National Society for Prevention of Blindness, 1952 - 1960, and Chairman of the Professional Committee of the Texas Society for Prevention of Blindness. For his role in organizing the Texas Society, he received the Dana Gold Medal award in 1962.

Dr. Goar was one of the men instrumental in the moving of Baylor University College of Medicine from Dallas to Houston, Texas, in 1943. He was Professor of Ophthalmology and Head of the Department from 1943 to 1957 and was Professor Emeritus at the time of his death.

He was primarily interested in teaching the young. For his work with the Boy Scouts, he received the Silver Beaver Scouting award in 1936. Professionally as a teacher, for many years, he helped give courses at the Academy on slit-lamp examinations and wrote many articles on various subjects in this field, including his “Handbook of Ophthalmology” for medical students. His contributions to Ophthalmology will long be remembered.

(American Journal of Ophthalmology, Vol 72, No.1, July 1971, pg 214, 215)

Nov 04, 2021Prem S. Subramanian, MD, PhDDenver, Colorado
Oct 01, 2020Ike Ahmed, MDToronto, Ontario, Canada
Sept 06, 2019Carol L. Shields, MDPhiladelphia, Pennsylvania
Jan 11, 2018Joseph F. Rizzo III, MDBoston, Massachusetts
May 18, 2017 Thomas A. Oetting, MD Iowa City, Iowa
Apr 07, 2016 Samuel Masket, MD Los Angeles, California
Nov 13, 2014 Elisabeth J. Cohen, MD New York City, New York
Feb 13, 2014 Alan S. Crandall, MD Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 11, 2013 Bonnie An Henderson, MD Boston, Massachusetts
Feb 09, 2012 Mark Packer, MD Portland, Oregon
Feb 17, 2011 Samuel Masket, MD Los Angeles, California
Feb 22, 2010 Uday Devgan, MD Beverly Hills, California
Mar 05, 2009 Andrew G. Lee, MD Iowa City, Iowa
Jan 10, 2008 Dimitri T. Azar, MD Chicago, Illinois
Feb 08, 2007 Doyle Stulting MD Atlanta, Georgia
Feb 09, 2006 Robert E. Levine, MD Los Angeles, California
Apr 14, 2005 M. Edward Wilson, MD Charleston, South Carolina
Feb 12, 2004 William F. Culbertson, MD  Miami, Florida
Apr 10, 2003 Edwin M. Stone, MD, PhD Iowa City, Iowa
Feb 14, 2002 David T. Tse, MD Miami, Florida
Feb 08, 2001 M. Bruce Shields, MD New Haven, Connecticut
Jan 13, 2000 Stanley Chang, MD New York, New York
Feb 11, 1999 Roger F. Steinert, MD Boston, Massachusetts
Jan 08, 1998 Walter J. Stark, MD Baltimore, Maryland
Feb 13, 1997 Gunter vonNoorden, MD Longboat Key, Florida
Oct 12, 1995 Richard L. Anderson, MD Salt Lake City, Utah
Feb 09, 1995 Joel Glaser, MD Miami, Florida
Nov 11, 1993 Daniele Aron Rosa, MD Paris, France
Feb 11, 1993 Harry W. Flynn, MD Miami, Florida
Feb 13, 1992 Richard L. Lindstrom, MD Minneapolis, Minnesota
Feb 14, 1991 Charles Schepens, MD Boston, Massachusetts
Feb 08, 1990 Thomas M. Aaberg, MD Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 06, 1989 J. Lawton Smith, MD Miami, Florida
Feb 18, 1988 Charles D. Kelman, MD. New York, NewYork
Feb 12, 1987 George O. Waring III, MD. Atlanta, Georgia
Feb 13, 1986 Frederick A. Jakobiec, MD. New York, New York
Feb 14, 1985 Marshall Parks, MD. District of Columbia
Feb 09, 1984 Max Fine, MD San Francisco, California
Feb 10, 1983 Robert Machemer, MD Durham, North Carolina
Feb 11, 1982 Frederick C. Blodi, MD Iowa City, Iowa
Feb 12, 1981 David Cogan, MD Bethesda, Maryland
Feb 14, 1980 J. Donald M. Gass, MD Miami, Florida
Feb 08, 1979 Arthur J. Jampolsky, MD San Francisco, California
Feb 25, 1978 Cornelius D. Binkhorst, MD Terneuzen, Netherlands
Mar 10, 1977 Irving H. Leopold, MD Newport Beach, California
Feb 12, 1976 Arnall Patz, MD Baltimore, Maryland
Feb 13, 1975   Cancelled Due To Illness
Feb 14, 1974 R.Townley Paton, MD Southampton, New York
Feb 08, 1973 A. Edward Maumnee, MD Baltimore, Maryland
Feb 10, 1972 Harvey E. Thorpe, MD Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jan 14, 1971 Frank W. Newell, MD Chicago, Illinois
Feb 12, 1970 Paul A. Chandler, MD Boston, Massachusetts
Feb 13, 1969 Edward W. D. Norton, MD  Miami, Florida
Feb 08, 1968 Joseph S. Haas, MD Chicago, Illinois
Mar 09, 1967 Robert N. Schaffer, MD San Francisco, California

Houston Ophthalmological Society